Study in Tampere

Photo by Atacan Ergin​
Photo by Atacan Ergin​

There are four higher education institutions located in Tampere: Tampere University of Applied Sciences (TAMK), Tampere University of Technology (TUT), the University of Tampere (UTA) and Police University College. The total student population of almost 40,000 contributes to the lively, energetic and exciting atmosphere of the city.

Each higher education institution (HEI) in Tampere has its own area of expertise and they work in close collaboration to form one of Finland's most attractive and multidisciplinary consortia for education, research and regional development. HEIs in Tampere offer international degree programmes taught in English in a wide range of fields. The programmes available at TUT cover technology and architecture. UTA offers programmes in the fields of social sciences, media, technology, health and administrative sciences. The programmes available at TAMK cover areas from engineering, business and media to nursing.  Internationally recognised research is carried out both in collaboration between the universities and individually.

All the Finnish policemen are educated in Tampere, since the only police university college of Finland is located in Tampere. The Police University College is responsible for police training recruitment, student selection, diploma and advanced studies, further training, and research and development in the police field.

Finnish universities are corporations under public law and they are financed primarily through the state budget. Finnish credits are ECTS compatible, meaning that one Finnish credit corresponds to one ECTS credit. The average workload per academic year is 1,600 hours, which corresponds to 60 credits.